Working in the Yard

Gardening - Make Work or Love WorkAt this time of the summer when it’s either too hot, too dry or too wet some of us question why we spend time working in the garden. The argument for gardening is a strong one that includes the benefits of being outdoors, physical activity and exercise, enriching the soil with nutrients and all while making your property more beautiful. But I left it behind when we moved to a townhouse and I’ve never missed it. As a matter of fact, I truly enjoy watching the lawn folks – Gary and Wendy – meticulously maintain the complex we live in. It makes me smile every Friday afternoon when I hear the churn of their mower and edger and look out my window to see them transform the lawn with their talents. I smell the freshly cut turf and it makes me smile even more. Many of my friends, who are gardening enthusiasts, can’t understand how and why my attitude changed and I can’t say I do either. While I used to love working in the yard pulling weeds and watching plants grow, now I consider gardening akin to make-work. It keeps you busy, but at what expense? I think of all the chemicals I’ve worked into the soil over the years and water wasted and wonder what harmful effects they might have on the environment in the future. I think I’d rather get my physical exercise at the local YMCA with others than being isolated in my yard. I think of all the work I’ve put into gardening only to repeat it several times each season. As I get older I see the value of my time and think it’s better spent doing things that have more meaning to me.

I hope you’ll visit us at www.diyornot.com if you want to know the cost of home improvements comparing doing it yourself vs. hiring a professional.

This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

